01

Thursday - December 31, 2015

01

Friday - January 01, 2016

01

Saturday - January 02, 2016

01

Sunday - January 03, 2016

01

Monday - January 04, 2016

01

Tuesday - January 05, 2016
Minor setback this morning. The winds were gusting to 25 MPH.

01

Wednesday - January 06, 2016

01

Thursday - January 07, 2016

01

Friday - January 08, 2016

01

Saturday - January 09, 2016
The US Coast Guard Ice Breaker went through about 9:30 this Morn., creating problems for me. The shoreline breaks and recedes about 2 inches when this happens.

01

Sunday - January 10, 2016
Using my laptop, I am making fine adjustments to the spray target locations.

01

Monday - January 11, 2016
By Remote control, I lowered the East spray tower for maintenance.

01

Tuesday - January 12, 2016
Another @%&# Coast Guard icebreaker came through today about 1:00pm. I guess they don’t know that this causes me problems. Maybe world commerce more important.

01

Wednesday - January 13, 2016

01

Thursday - January 14, 2016
Finally! Winds from the East.

01

Friday - January 15, 2016

01

Saturday - January 16, 2016
Setting up for the second tier.

01

Sunday - January 17, 2016

01

Monday - January 18, 2016
Removing excess buildup over gateway.

01

Tuesday - January 19, 2016
West spray tower Maintenance.

01

Wednesday - January 20, 2016
Removing exess buildup from gateway.
That Chunck comming down weighs about 150 Lbs.
It was first carved out with a chainsaw.

01

Friday - January 22, 2016
Started the third tier, But the warm weather has led to little progress.

01

Saturday - January 23, 2016

01

Monday - January 25, 2016
Interview with Rachel Slavik: WCCO Minneaopolis.

01

Tuesday- January 26, 2016
Nozzle maintenance on the West spray tower.

01

Wednesday - January 27, 2016
Early morning sunrise.

01

Thursday - January 28, 2016
Getting ready to repair the damage caused by
high temps (40) and strong winds (25) this day.

01

Friday - January 29, 2016
I m able to rcover some of what I lost yesterday.
Tomorrow is not looking to be a good day. Weather wise!

01

Sunday - January 31, 2016

01

Monday - February 1, 2016
Using chainsaw to chunck up fallen ice.

01

Tuesday - February 2, 2016

01

Wednesday - February 3, 2016
Removing water from the entrance.

01

Thursday - February 4, 2016

01

Friday - February 5, 2016

01

Saturday - February 6, 2016
Removing buildup on front of entrance.
Seared with chainsaw and then split with ax.

01

Sunday - February 7, 2016

01

Monday - February 8, 2016

01

Tuesday - February 9, 2016

01

Wednesday - February 10, 2016
Setting up for tier four.

01

Thursday - February 11, 2016
At 3:00 this morning finally was able to set tier four.

01

Friday - February 12, 2016

01

Saturday - February 13, 2016


Current Events


Image 01
February 20th Through February 27th
Click for more information


Special Thanks

I want to thank the following for financially supporting this project:
• City of Superior & the Tourist Development Fund
• Major Sponsor: National Bank of Commerce
• Presenting Sponsors: Kwik Trip & Superior Water, Light & Power Company
• Media Partner: Red Rock Radio

Also I want to thank all who take time to appreciate these projects and the effort that goes into them. It is truly my pleasure meeting and talking to people that have a genuine appreciation for our natural enviroment.
 

Project Location


The Adventure Has Begun AGAIN!!!

Once more I am given an opportunity to build an ice sculpture on
Barkers Island, Superior Wisconsin.

My theme this year will be a European style castle with four towers
I have been working on this project ever since I got off the island. This year I am implementing two spray towers to better take advantage of the ever changing winds. I spent four months just developing the software for this project. I tried three different approaches for the software to find the best scenario. Also I made modifications to the system components to better handle the problems that I encountered last year.